Can I still make games?

Started by
10 comments, last by Thr33d 18 years, 7 months ago
Quote:Original post by ciroknight
Worst. Advice. Ever.

Not to rag on you struct, but not taking the time to learn how something works and copying and pasting code is one of the most terrible ways to over engineer something. A lot of the engineers that I work with will end up duplicating something almost verbatum from the STL and I'll ask them about it and they almost invariably answer "Oh, I just took out my STL Handbook from HP and drummed something up". At this point, I usually feel like backhanding them and telling my boss to fire them and hire more college graduates to replace their lazy arses. (Not that I work with the STL a lot in my line of work; I mostly code for embedded platforms which means a lot of C and assembly, and a lot of trickery.)

I understand your stance and to clarify my point a bit: My background is software engineering and so far mostly user application, and having worked on projects with hard deadlines and often too little time to complete everything, I have come back from the idea that I should know everything as I did in the past. I have adapted my manner of working to find usefull resources, and use those to complete my goal, rather than make everything myself. For example, in my current project we had to use USB communication. Instead of making an USB driver ourselves we picked a free (ofcourse, well supported and tested) one from the internet and used that. Instead of missing the deadline, we just made it. And still no one in the project knows the ins and outs of USB, just how to call the driver.

Very muchly so to the original question, you can make games without knowing much about maths. There are numerous resources out there that do the "hard stuff" for you.