Game State Control

Started by
32 comments, last by Bob Janova 17 years, 7 months ago
Here is my State Manager Class I made. It's based off of the state manager used in Programming RPGs With DirectX. It uses function pointers for the game states. In the book they used a stack for the state manager, which I found as a stupid way to do it as I would have to try and keep track of which states are where in the stack so that I would know which state would show next once I popped one off. Personally I think the stack is a dumb model to follow for a state manager, but what do I know, I'm still a beginner. I've only made a tetris clone and am working on a 2D space invaders meets starfox type of game. But anyways, here is the code for my state manager class; it is written in C++. Feel free to use or change the code freely.