Oluseyi

Started by
22 comments, last by Oluseyi 17 years, 6 months ago
Workshop participation thread for Oluseyi
Advertisement
Post a picture of your work, hand drawn. Then talk a bit about your knowledge of art, and or your ignorance about it, so that people know where others are starting.

You can view some of my work here on GameDev. I've progressed a bit since the last image, but I haven't uploaded anything new in a while.

I have little formal education in the fine arts. I have a degree that is built on what is called Visual Culture, so I can read images as texts. I've taken enough art history and literature classes and studied art and culture on my own enough to understand a lot about the sociocultural significant and impact of art. I also understand the fine arts as a communications medium.

As far as drawing, I taught myself to "draw" when I was eight or nine. I say "draw" because I now believe that I could draw before that, but I acquired a formal knowledge of the principles of "realistic drawing" at that time - perspective, foreshortening, occlusion, light and shadow. I learned by tracing Roy of the Rovers comics. I've been away from drawing for several years - nothing more than the occasional doodle until about three months ago, when I decided I wanted to get serious about drawing and animation again (I did animation as a kid, using Microsoft Show Partner for simple "animatics" type work, and later using utilities I wrote in C for DOS).
Assignment 10/29, Part 1

I punched up the contrast with the levels dialog, since the emphasis here is on line and not rendering.

[Edit: Moving files around on the server so everything for the workshop is in a single folder hierarchy.]

[Edited by - Oluseyi on October 31, 2006 12:44:43 AM]
<unsolicited instruction>