OpenGL vs. DirectX

Started by
21 comments, last by PlayerX 17 years ago
Honestly, I'm new at most of this. I've read many of Nehe's tutorials so I can do some stuff in OpenGL if I set my mind on it, but I really haven't actually finished anything. I just don't want to spend the time to learn one of them, only to find out that the other is better, etc. So what I understand is they're both basically the same in difficulty and functionality in the long run. But as for Dev-C++ it is the compiler I am using as well. Does someone have a suggestion for a better one?
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by GMX
But as for Dev-C++ it is the compiler I am using as well. Does someone have a suggestion for a better one?

Visual Studio 2005 Standard Edition, or if you can't or won't get that, then the Express Edition. I've been using the Standard Edition I got for free last year, and I definitely enjoy it. Perhaps it takes a bit of time to get use to it, but I've been using various versions of Visual Studio for a long time, so VS2005 was simply similar but better.

It sort of reminds me of a similar thing with OGL/D3D, where with OGL it takes very little code and comprehension to get something on the screen, but it takes a bit more code and comprehension to do the same with D3D. Similarly, some IDEs might make it easier to quickly build a very basic program from a single source file, but VS2005 is very nice when working with any project of a more command and realistic size.
"We should have a great fewer disputes in the world if words were taken for what they are, the signs of our ideas only, and not for things themselves." - John Locke
One thing to be aware of. Video card manufacturers tend to focus on their Direct3D drivers before their OpenGL ones. Not a problem with ATI or NVIDIA, but I've had the dubious honour of trying to develop a modern OpenGL renderer on Intel accelerators of which there are a hell of a lot of out there. Their OpenGL implementation is bad.