Is this a likely scenario

Started by
6 comments, last by L. Spiro 14 years, 1 month ago
Hello, Ive been working towards one day becoming a game designer and I was wondering if this would be a good idea to maybe get a job. Last night Me and My friend were brainstorming and I thought of the Unreal Development kit. I've been messing around with it for a couple of months, and have become quiet good with it. I was wondering if two people, One doing the concept art and most of the textures (my friend) and the other doing the rest, modeling, texturing some, design, coding, etc. (me) made a decent game with the Unreal Engine, if Companys would be willing to take a look at us without us showing our fancy degrees from a costly college such as DigiPen, I actually talked to someone who helped making Unreal Tournament 3 last night and he thought it was a good idea. So I just thought I would maybe get a 2nd opinion. Thanks to all who will answer! P.S. I'm only 15 so I have sometime to sharpen my skills :D
Advertisement
Anything is possible, but a better question is to ask what's probable. It's probable that you'll have a much harder time getting hired without a degree than you will with one. It's probable that there are thousands of people out there who are as skilled with the UDK as you are, and that you will need something they don't have to stand out from the crowd. It's therefore probable that not having something that they all do have (ie: a degree) will make it much more difficult.

I don't think anyone cares about an expensive degree from Digipen though. Except maybe DigiPen. I think most employers would be just as happy to see a plain old BSc Computer Science from the University of Your Choosing.
Quote:Original post by Amyrildora