Problems with a tetris clone written in C++/SFML

Started by
7 comments, last by shiryu 13 years, 3 months ago
Hello,
Like many other people, after reading this article, I decided to make my own version of Tetris. So I started learning SFML and after one week of work, that's what it looks for the moment.

It works well but I have some littles problems.
First, in Tetris, when a piece land, it can be moved again at least once before getting it's final position, but I can't see how to do it. I try making the game wait a little when a piece lands, but it doesn't work.
Second, (it's stupid, I agree) I don't how to make a SFML program pause.

Please I need help, you can view the source code here, and also suggestions and feedbacks about the source code.

P. S. Sorry if my English is not good enough, I'm french.
Advertisement
Good job, I like the look of your game, nice and clean.

1) Moving a non-falling block.
Each frame you must have a main loop that looks something like

a) Handle input
c) Collision detection
b) Move blocks
c) Render

So the trick is to allow horizontal movement even if vertical movement is not possible. Keep a timer value. Every frame increase this time until some limit, e.g. 2 seconds. If the timer reaches 2s then lock that block and drop a new one. If in any frame you find that the block have moved then reset the timer to 0. This way you don't have to special-case non-moving blocks, you just have to note that if the block haven't moved for X seconds, then drop a new block.

2) The only difference between paused and active is that game logic is run. So just check if the game is in pause mode and skip game logic. Pseudo-code:
while( true ) {    get_input()    if( paused ) {        handle_input_paused()            } else {        handle_input()        do_logic()    }    render()}

Of course, handling timers that run across a pause in the game can be a bit tricky.
How do you structure your code?

In tetris, there's two kinds of events: