"Some" Simple Beginner questions

Started by
2 comments, last by Juliean 12 years, 11 months ago
So im still learning but I think i've got a grasp of most things DX11 (Well....beginner things) And I REALLY do apologize for all the questions.....but I'd rather understand EVERYTHING before I move on.
I have 2 main functions (well 3 technically) that set up everything. I have Initgraphics(), InitD3D(), and Initpipeline()

D3D sets up the swap chain, viewport, depth buffer and back buffer. (I understand all this.....your setting stuff up, makes sense)
Initgraphics() Creates the Verticies (for the cube/whatever im drawing) and then creates the vertex buffer and copies it in.

// create the vertex buffer
D3D11_BUFFER_DESC bd;
ZeroMemory(&bd, sizeof(bd));

bd.Usage = D3D11_USAGE_DYNAMIC;
bd.ByteWidth = sizeof(VERTEX) * 24;
bd.BindFlags = D3D11_BIND_VERTEX_BUFFER;
bd.CPUAccessFlags = D3D11_CPU_ACCESS_WRITE;

dev->CreateBuffer(&bd, NULL, &pVBuffer);

// copy the vertices into the buffer
D3D11_MAPPED_SUBRESOURCE ms;
devcon->Map(pVBuffer, NULL, D3D11_MAP_WRITE_DISCARD, NULL, &ms); // map the buffer
memcpy(ms.pData, OurVertices, sizeof(OurVertices)); // copy the data
devcon->Unmap(pVBuffer, NULL);

it also does the same thing for the Index buffer.

I also have initpipeline() (see code below)

// compile the shaders
ID3D10Blob *VS, *PS;
D3DX11CompileFromFile(L"shaders.hlsl", 0, 0, "VShader", "vs_5_0", 0, 0, 0, &VS, 0, 0);
D3DX11CompileFromFile(L"shaders.hlsl", 0, 0, "PShader", "ps_5_0", 0, 0, 0, &PS, 0, 0);

// create the shader objects
dev->CreateVertexShader(VS->GetBufferPointer(), VS->GetBufferSize(), NULL, &pVS);
dev->CreatePixelShader(PS->GetBufferPointer(), PS->GetBufferSize(), NULL, &pPS);

// set the shader objects
devcon->VSSetShader(pVS, 0, 0);
devcon->PSSetShader(pPS, 0, 0);

// create the input element object
D3D11_INPUT_ELEMENT_DESC ied[] =
{
{"POSITION", 0, DXGI_FORMAT_R32G32B32_FLOAT, 0, 0, D3D11_INPUT_PER_VERTEX_DATA, 0},