Graphics Question from a Novice

Started by
6 comments, last by JNT 12 years, 9 months ago
I've been programming for about a decade now, but have just recently made the step from 2D software rendering to 3D hardware accelerated graphics. My current project is still a 2D game, but done with a 3D engine (Ogre) to take advantage of GPUs and all the other beautiful effects that are impractical otherwise.

Since I am new to 3D graphics programming, a great deal of the common terminology and techniques are still unknown to me, despite extensive reading on the (vast) subject, so my question may seem naive and simple to all of you advanced individuals. Basically, what I'm hoping to do, is create a character editor in-game, so that users can draw their own characters to play with. I want it to be easy and intuitive to use, and hide the complex inner workings from the user, so that even a child could draw out a new character. Forcing the player to use an external program is very unappealing to me, since that will discourage many players from bothering at all.

So, what I'd like, is for the character editor to allow the player to draw the character outline, just as if they were using any normal image editor. For internal representation, I'd then like to convert their outline into a mesh of polygons dynamically. Ideally, this would be done in such a way that the polygon count can be altered based on the user's video settings in-game, to optimize performance.

I have a feeling that this is not only very possible, but probably somewhat common, only I haven't come across it yet in my readings, so I don't know what the proper term would be. Alright, now here are my questions:

What is this technique called?
How can I implement this, ideally with an existing library (that is free for commercial use, under LGPL, zlib, MIT, or whatever license (oh, and must be crossplatform) ) ?
What particulars should I be aware of, and what issues might I have implementing this?