Anyone here a self-taught graphics programmer?

i truly started graphics programming at 15 or 16, when i was doing homebrew for the psp, and learned the gu, thus began my journey on learning how to program a graphical game(although it was still pretty heavy fixed pipeline, so i knew nothing of shaders).  than i used xna with the 360 for a bit, learned a bit about shaders, but it didn't click for awhile on what i was truly doing.  then i decided to work with openGL and learned shaders far more in-depth.  i don't feel anywhere near finished, i've seen tons of people producing far better than I.  but i have learned plenty enough that i can get something up and running in openGL fairly quickly.

My first hardware accelerated application was a MS Word document!  No kidding!  Before I get to that, let me tell the story of learning to use opengl in basic, assembly and then C, and yes in that order.  In early high school I played around a lot with qbasic and was writing simple wireframe 3d mazes with horrible performance.  I didn't have a C compiler, so I started playing around with debug.com, and started writing little assemly language routines to speed up certain slow things in basic.  Debug sucks, it can't even do labels, you have to specify the exact jump address. You literally have to write JMP 0x322 and hope you put some code at 0x322.  So I wrote a qbasic program that reads in assembly source with labels, strips them out, runs it through debug with dummy addresses (JMP 0x1234 or whatever).  It looks at the redirected output of debug to see what address the assembler said it was using for each line, figured out the labels, and then reassembled it a second time.  It was so cruddy.  While I was doing this, I also got involved in a high school robotics program called Botball, where you programed lego robots in a language called Interactive C.