Why do Indies use Pixely Graphics(16 bit style)?

Started by
7 comments, last by jbadams 9 years, 12 months ago

Hey guys, I came to ask a question. There seems to be an ongoing trend with indie devs to go with a pseudo 16 bit art style when approaching game developing. Is there a particular reason why they choose to make this style, or is it a design choice?

Is vector really that hard to apply? Does the notion of going HD complicate things?

Shantae doesnt seem to have the problem making that transition and BlazBlu/ Guilty Gear have been using HD or larger scaled pixel art for a very long time now.

Is it a resolution problem, where the machines have a hard time transitioning to different devices?

I'm new with these concepts as I'm just an artist, but I have to think about these things as well when approaching the art style of the game.

Hope to hear from the community soon.

Advertisement

There seems to be an ongoing trend with indie devs to go with a pseudo 16 bit art style when approaching game developing. Is there a particular reason why they choose to make this style, or is it a design choice?
Making realistic looking textures is hard as fck and time consuming. With "16 bit style" you can appeal to the "good ol' times", get nice graphics working, and you're good at it, get an artistic result too.

Its the natural result of resource constrained development, you try to make the best of what you have.

"I AM ZE EMPRAH OPENGL 3.3 THE CORE, I DEMAND FROM THEE ZE SHADERZ AND MATRIXEZ"

My journals: dustArtemis ECS framework and Making a Terrain Generator

I suppose the answer is different for each case, for me it's a design choice.