To mirror or not to mirror?

Started by
6 comments, last by skmongol 8 years, 9 months ago

I am just starting out with modeling in blender and I am making hand guns mostly. I am wondering if mirroring is the best way to go when working. If I use a mirror, I am restricted to the x and y axis in terms of being able to move the model around. Is there anyway to make an object with a mirror and then get rid of it later on without losing the other side?

Advertisement

I am just starting out with modeling in blender and I am making hand guns mostly. I am wondering if mirroring is the best way to go when working. If I use a mirror, I am restricted to the x and y axis in terms of being able to move the model around. Is there anyway to make an object with a mirror and then get rid of it later on without losing the other side?

Do you mean the mirror-modifier ? Then yes, it is often the best and fastest way to start with mirror modelling. If you want to add some asymmetrically features you can just add it as separate model. Later on, you can "apply" the modifier, that will remove the mirror-modifier and the mirrored vertices are added to the model. Best to keep the mirror modifier as long as possible. It is even possible that, when exporting your model, that all modifiers are automatically applied.

What about something like a shell ejection port on a gun? I would use the mirror first, then apply the modifier, and then put the ejection port on the proper side, correct?

What about something like a shell ejection port on a gun? I would use the mirror first, then apply the modifier, and then put the ejection port on the proper side, correct?

Yep, this would work, thought if it is possible to separate this part of the model, then I would keep the mirrored part as long as possible. Applying fixes to the models once you have applied the modifier will be harder. You can stich the model together later.