First game engine

Started by
1 comment, last by jpetrie 8 years, 8 months ago

Hello!

I'n new to this forum so i don't really know how this works smile.png

For some time I want to create a game... any game but i don't want to use any game engine our there simply because i want to understand how all of this works, so i want to create a game with an engine built by myself.

All i want is a game engine capable of run a simple 2D game, for now since i want to start with the very basics and grow it from there. I would love to have a final engine that could run anything, for purposes like LudumDare for instance and to grow my portfolio.

The game will be something like a top view shooter, with simple AI that follows and shoots back.Or even pong, that will work.

Now i have some experience with programming since i'm taking a computer science course at university.

I'm thinking of using C++ and OpenGL. (This is not definitive. If u think i should start with something else please do tell me)

I only know the basics of C++ and i know very little to nothing about OpenGL. I've been watching a youtuber (thecherno) create his own game engine with GLFW and GLEW, So i want to do something in those lines aswell

My issue list:

Where do i start?

What design do i need to do in paper? Diagrams and such.

What does a game engine need to work? What are the main classes i will need?

After I have built the basics to run the game how do I improve from there?

Hope i got everything cleared enough to be answered.

Advertisement
Well first. You don't start with an engine. At all. You start with making a game. Many games. And your experiences in making game will help you later on, much later on, in your game engine decisions.

But for now, you need to know how to make a game. From start to finish. So you'll need to use a library. My suggestion right now is to use Python and PyGame. It'll get you up and running sooner than dealing with C++.