Game dev theory pointers

Started by
17 comments, last by JohnnyCode 8 years, 3 months ago
the biggest influence in getting a good design is experience. Someone who has been there before, and knows what to expect.

This suggests you can start anywhere with Pong.

But herein lies my problem. I haven't been anywhere, I haven't done anything, I have no experience. (Discounting having a graphical user interface which codes on your behalf, leaving you clueless as to how it solved that problem.)

Whether you burn through a codeacademy course in an hour or so, or whether you buy an impressive-looking thick book that will take you weeks to read; (at least in my experience) all you will learn is stuff about variables, mathematical operators and functions / classes. You will be able to print text to the command line, and do some number punching on a calculator behind the scene.

At the very high level of abstraction, a game is a program that produces output. To be precise, mostly graphical output.

None of these things, designed to outfit beginners with what they need to know before chucking them out there and saying 'go program now', even begin to address graphics.

If you bought a really thick book, you might know how to save a high-score to an external file for use next time you run the game, but not if you changed your mind about which language to learn after buying the book (Usually because you're advised strongly to start with a simpler language, but occasionally because you're told that of the options available, despite all the sales-hype for why this is the book you should buy, this is not a language worth bothering with.)