(First) commercial indie game - is it that hard?

Started by
6 comments, last by Unduli 7 years, 2 months ago

I don't know what i should put into the title of this topic.

There is always one thing that i always wondered: How do people release their (first) indie game without falling into a potential spiral of cost and or (high) taxes?

Before i go further into details, let me explain my situation.

I'm a 24 year old student studying/living in Austria (not Australia :P ) but my nationality is polish.

I'm just making finishing touches on my hobby game project which i planned to release commercially on steam (i already passed the Steam Greenlight process successfully.)

Now, in Austria i need to register as a Sole-Proprietorship in order to be able to distribute the game through steam. - no problem here. AFAIK taxes only need to be payed if you have a revenue of over 11.000 euros in a year. (very simplified.)

The bigger issue here is the cost of the (mandatory) Social insurance.

Now, you don't need to pay social insurance if you have a yearly income of max 5.000€ and a max turnover of 30.000€.

If you go above that restriction once in a year, you have to pay the yearly social insurance for (at least) the next 5 years (without exceptions). The cost of social insurance starts at 2.500€ (yearly) and can go even higher, depending on your income from the last 3 years. (Which is mind-bogling). As an example, if you have 6000€ income (already taxed) in a year, you will have to pay nearly 41% from your income for social insurance alone.

(You aren't even able to live from that in this country.)

And to be honest, this seems to be very restricting. Basically if i start selling a game on steam, my income from the sales can't go above 5.000€ (unless i start to create costs in order to write them off from my income. Which i might have to do in the end...)