Aspiring Character Artist looking for advice

Started by
6 comments, last by Wolfebytes 5 years, 5 months ago

I am currently an undergrad several months from graduation. My major is in Game Programming and Development. During the course of my studies, we've had a few modeling classes and I really took to it and feel that is the direction I really want to go, specifically I would love to become a character artist. I keep hearing about your portfolio being super important, but I've really never been able to find out what kind of work is best to put into my portfolio. There's no "put 2 of these and 1 of those in," kind of tips. I get that I'll want to put some characters I've modeled in there, but I guess what I really want to know is, if I want my portfolio to be noticed and taken seriously for a character artist position, what is the best way to present it? Since most of my courses have dealt more with programming, I need to build everything for my modeling portfolio on the side, outside of class on my own time. I know there are no specific numbers like: put 3 realistic humans, 2 robots, a creature, and a stylistic character in your portfolio. But as a general rule is there some kind basic guideline or tips for what to make to get your portfolio off to a good start?

Advertisement

Just a few tips.

A character art portfolio shouldn't have environment art or object art in it. You excel in characters, so focus on characters.

Put only your best work in the portfolio. The first 5 images must jump off the screen and put their hands around the viewer's neck and shake, while screaming "dude/girl, you gotta hire this artist!" The rest of the images need to be great, not half-assed.

Don't put any pencil sketches in it unless they're stand-alone frameable masterpieces; "show your work" is just for math tests.

Your portfolio will be online. Make it dead easy for viewers to find, and to figure out what you're best at, and how to hire you.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com