Looking for a C++ project to collaborate and learn

Started by
4 comments, last by vaihei 10 months ago

"Hello! I'm a 25-year-old university student from Finland, and I'm looking for an opportunity to contribute to a C++ game or game engine project. Specifically, I'm interested in projects that do not rely on ready-made game engines like Unreal or Unity.

While I have decent experience with C++, I haven't yet had the chance to work on larger projects. However, I do have some experience with libraries such as SDL2, OpenGL, and boost::asio.

None

Advertisement

Just to clarify, you want to use a game engine, or you want to make a game engine?

@Gnollrunner I would like to be part on making games without ready-made engine like unreal or unity, or be part in making a game engine. (I edited my post to be clearer)

None

@vaihei Ok, well I have such a project. The problem is it's VERY long term and quite complicated. I'm trying to do procedural planets up to a procedural galaxy. This will be for an eventual space empire sort of game. You can look at my blog for videos. It's now been ported to DirectX12 (From DirectX11), and I have incorporated Dear IMGUI as a temporary GUI. It also has basic terrain collision so the stand in ball now collides with and slides over the terrain.

There is still a LOT to be done on it: Animation, better rendering, more physics, loading of external assets etc. This is not an open-source project since it will be the core of my game, and it would be like giving away most of my work to other similar projects. However, I'm open to collaboration with the right person or people.