Am I a bad programmer?

Started by
28 comments, last by Trienco 11 years, 1 month ago

I recently went on hackforums.net and started writing tutorials. Immediately, a user called Gamma started calling me a terrible programmer, pointing out many things in my tutorials (all in the first actually. Most of them were because he hated system("pause"); and visual studio's pre-compiled headers). Do you think I'm a bad programmer? Do you know of any ways I can improve my programming.

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja !

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!

Here's my Custom IDE / Debugger Programmed in Pure Python and Designed from the Ground Up for Programming Education!

Want to ask about Python, Flask, wxPython, Pygame, C++, HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, jQuery, C++, Vimscript, SFML 1.6 / 2.0, or anything else? Recruiting for a game development team and need a passionate programmer? Just want to talk about programming? Email me here:

hobohm.business@gmail.com

or Personal-Message me on here !

Advertisement

I'm sure, that there are lot of things you can improve on, I think every programmer should improve all the time. But all programmers have their own preferences and tastes when it comes down to programming styles, workflow etc. As long as you don't write tutorials about things commonly seen as bad programming behavior and only a single person points out, that you have some issues, all is ok. Best to pick up the issues, the other programmer has pointed out, do some research and/or discuss the issues on a forum and try to learn from it, either your coding style is ok or it could be improved, both are valid results.

A bad programmer is someone whom can never get anything to work or work correctly.