C# and Unity for 2D Side Scroller

Started by
15 comments, last by Eck 7 years, 11 months ago

Good Evening All,

Firstly, I'm new here - so Hi All :) I'm Alex, from London.

I am a developer by trade (for the last 15 years), however I write boring-business and database type software and Windows Services in C# and the like - so whilst I am not new to Programming, I am very very new to Game Development.

I understand the theory of the gaming loop and such, and have implemented very very basic stuff in C# but thwarted by the way it renders graphics, and the dreaded flickering - even if I blit the image its still not cool.

So this brings me on to using an engine (I Think? Correct me if I'm wrong)

i want to write a 2D side scroller (think Super Mario for the NES) for a Windows Platform. I am going to buy the assets - I've found cheapy pleasnt looking ones where by the each action is between 3 and 12 frames (walking is 12 frames, dying is 3). Any, I am getting ahead of myself. That's the background.

In short, how do I do this? Is Unity a suitable engine? In fact how do engines work - do I still use Visual Studio? Does unity integrate with Visual Studio or do i do all programming within the Unity environment.

Finally, can anyone recommend a good up to date book on the matter?

I am really only interested in 2D game programming as its purely a hobby and not a career move. And I am rather nostalgic about such - I might like to branch out in a old fashioned command and conquer type game... one day.

Any thoughts guys?

Cheers

Alex

Advertisement

LINK for Unity 2D .

I cannot remember the books I've read any more than the meals I have eaten; even so, they have made me.

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

When using Unity you will work in the editor as well as Visual Studio. In the editor you place your Assets and build your Level. Also you can create C# Scripts and attach them to your objects. In Visual Studio you then write your Code.