What Order To Code In?

Started by
5 comments, last by Landon Patmore 11 years, 10 months ago
[font=times new roman,times,serif]Hi Everyone,[/font]
[font=times new roman,times,serif]I need a little help...i'm new to CoronaSDK and Lua language...I understand the basics. But i need help in the order in which i'm suppose to code in. I don't know if i should make the menu first, the pictures, or levels. I'm just confused with this. I would really appreciate if someone can help me with this. :)[/font]
[font=times new roman,times,serif]Thanks!![/font]
[font=times new roman,times,serif]Landon[/font]
Advertisement
I'm not familiar with CoronaSDK, but usually my dev cycle is something like:

1. Barebones world (just some land)
  2. Console output, relevant debug text
  3. Simple collision/Input
  4. More complex UI
  5. Refine World
  6. Refine UI
  7. Repeat 5-6 until gold

'World' refers to general features like rendering or audio.
In a production environment normally you have a set of features you're responsible for, so knowing what to work on is rarely an issue (esp. with publishers tongue.png)

The advantage of working indie is that once things are working on a very basic level, you can decide what you want to do when you want to do it.
If I could offer some advice though, try not to be too jumpy between systems. Lots of bugs happen that way.

I'm not familiar with CoronaSDK, but usually my dev cycle is something like:
Barebones world (just some land)
Console output, relevant debug text
Simple collision/Input
More complex UI

Could you explain these 4 parts of the cycle a little more in depth. Like would you make the menu first, or the level.

Thanks!