Web developer or Software developer

Started by
8 comments, last by Servant of the Lord 11 years, 7 months ago
Tell me your opinion about these topics.
1. who has more bright future, who can make more money , A web developer or a software developer????(i heard that php developer are much demanded)
2. which are web development languages and which are software development languages.????
3. web development languages are easy or software development languages????
Advertisement
Maybe I'm wrong, but I think that web developers are just a subset of software developers. As a software developer, you can always specialize in web.
If I was writing the back-end of a web application in PHP, I'd still say I was a software developer. I'd also be a web developer. I'd be both.
They're both software jobs. If you learn to be a programmer / software engineer, you can do both jobs.

If I used PHP to make a web-application, it's definitely being used as a web-development language...
...but if I use PHP to make a desktop application, it's being used as a traditional software-development language.
I'm currently working as a software developer, and sometimes i develop for the web.
As it was stated above, web development can be viewed as a subset of software development.
I'd draw the line at markup, though.
Writing markup by hand is neither, although its often interpreted in software development, xml in general,
Or html if you want to display something interpreted by a browser.

The difference is gradual though. Are you a web developer because you develop and maintain a webserver?
Probably. Depends on which parts of the server, I'd say.

Among other things, php outputs html. This in IMO an excellent example of web development close to the steel. - low-level, some might say. But you can develop for the web with asp.net as well, with C# and VB. Net, and they and php are very different languages.
But they are all languages meant for software development.