[D3D12 SOLVED] Could not render triangles, no error output (debug enabled)

Started by
6 comments, last by VietNN 6 years, 9 months ago

Hi everyone,

I am new to DX12, I download sample project from MSDN and it can run and draw triangles successfully.

But when I create new project and copy code from MSDN sample (Hello Triangles Project). I do not know why it could not render anything to screen except clearing the screen with blue color.

Could you have a look at my code to see what problem is... I got stuck here for 2 days.

TestD3D12.7z

Advertisement

Edit: Remove to clean topic

One thing that stands out to me:

struct Vertex {
	XMFLOAT3 position;
	XMFLOAT4 color;
};

Here you have a float3 for position; which is matched by your input-signature declaration.

PSInput VSMain(float4 position : POSITION, float4 color : COLOR)
{
	PSInput result;

result.position = position;
	result.color = color;

return result;
}

But the Vertex-shader receives a float4. Even if this were technically legal (not sure in DX12), this probably means that the w-component is 0.0f, while it should actually be 1.0f when output from the vertex-shader w/o any persective transform, as is the case for you. I'd suggest trying:

PSInput VSMain(float3 position : POSITION, float4 color : COLOR)
{
	PSInput result;

result.position.xyz = position;
        result.position.w = 1.0f;
	result.color = color;

return result;

and see if this works.

Where are you setting your viewport and scissor rectangle? (m_viewport and m_scissorRect)

This is exactly what happens when you copy from multiple sources and smash it all together without reading things through.

Anyway, it will work once you initialize those

Edit: 

Juliean is write about using a float3 instead of a float4. Weird enough though, the w component actually gets default initialized to 1.0f, and as Juliean mentioned you would have assumed it was being zero initialized, this is a good reason to be explicit