Programmer Starting team

Started by
33 comments, last by SonaScenic 4 years, 6 months ago

Before we start leaping forward in game decisions, we need to know who particularly filled each role that Doug25 listed out. Also I imagine the writer should be involved in discussions about genre.

Advertisement

@asdfzitro I was just wondering. Seems like we have a couple people with 3D programming/modeling experience. No 3D artists yet...

Hello. I'm a complete beginner with absolutely 0 experience. Before I continue, I must say right now I am not ready to work on a team, but very soon, a project like what you envision would be absolutely perfect for me (actually for us, great for building a portfolio) I am currently learning C# and the Unity Engine, from what I gather Unity is currently the better platform currently for 2D games (complexity wise). I have a passion for learning and gaming, and have reached a point in my life where I am able to peruse a serious career in game development. I have LOTS of time on my hands, I worked for years to allow my partner to peruse their dreams, since achieving that reality, its my turn now to peruse my dream. I believe I have successfully tackled the motivation and stress parts of learning to program, and summed it up into this sentence: "If your not failing, your not learning". My current path of education is:

Learn C# basics through Unity

Develop reasonably polished prototypes to practice and cement down certain concepts

Practice with the goal of mastering intermediate and advanced C# coding, (starting with advanced RPG mechanics)

Learn Unity networking, AI, and other advanced topics.

Deploy a game or tech demo that demonstrates intermediate and advanced C# and Unity concepts. Perhaps a complex RPG

Eventually move on to C++ and Unreal.